Jumping in…

So. First post. What do I write about? It’s kind of nerve-wracking, beginning a new blog. I’m not new to it by any stretch of the imagination. I used blogger many years ago when I had my own Web site to host it on. Then I moved to LiveJournal when I discovered fandom. I still have my LJ, but I wanted something… more public.

So where to begin? At the beginning I suppose.

I was born in a small town in Alabama and spent nearly all of my life in a small town in Tennessee. As of this writing, I’m 33 years old, have a full time job and still live with my parents. That last bit is often hard to admit, but financial and health reasons demand it of me. Not that I mind… too much. My parents are amazingly easy going, and I don’t have much of a social life anyway. I also live with my three-and-a-half-year-old dog, Dixie, who is a Yorkie/Pomeranian mix (or as I like to call her, a Porkie), and the newest addition to the family, a chinchilla named Oreo. He’s a rescue from being a classroom pet where he wasn’t taken care of. I think he’s happier to be here.

I work at a small town newspaper, and… it’s OK… but the people are great. It’s not what I went to college for, but it’s what I do now. I spend my days typing, proof reading and writing obituaries. A bit morbid, but I love telling people I write obituaries for a living.

And the purpose of this blog? I don’t really know. I want to be a writer, but feel I’m not very good at it. I tried wracking my brains for a topic, but all I really have that I am an expert in is my life. So, until and unless I find a direction, this is the story of me.

This blog will be a hodgepodge of topics. I like action movies, reality and sci-fi shows and am an avid book reader. I collect Barbie dolls and Webkinz. (I swear, I really am an adult!) I love animals and taking pictures. I have one nephew and several godchildren. I never keep my room clean but I’m a compulsive hand-washer. I’m not a girly-girl; I hate shopping for clothes/shoes. I scrapbook and cross-stitch. I love to travel, but seldom get to. I am a defender of proper grammar and spelling (but please don’t hold it against me if I make a typo… it happens). I want to be a writer, but have no creativity. I have health problems but I love life. And now, I’m sharing that life with the Internet. I don’t know if I’ll ever get any readers, but I think it will be good practice.

So… nice to meet you, world. Hope you don’t mind if I stay a bit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Small Town Girl

Leave a Reply

