Can I now officially call myself a published author?

I had been working on a blog piece last week about my memories of being a kid at the county fair, since the local fair begins this week. It wasn’t anything serious, just a writing exercise. Then at work, my coworker was wondering what to do about a column for the opinion page, since the guy who had been writing one weekly had finally quit due to a career change. I almost didn’t say anything, but then I figured, why not? What have I got to lose? At worst, she can say it’s too cheesy and I could go ahead and post it here. But she liked it. And it’s in tomorrow’s paper. Sweet!

Though, it’s funny. I’d love to be a full time writer! But when I handed her a printout of the column, I was so embarrassed! I guess it’s true that you are your own worst critic. It really was horribly cheesy… talking about favorite fair foods, rides (the Himalaya!) and other fun fair stuff, like how I’ve kept this ugly stuffed bear all because my daddy won it for me one year. See? Cheesy, right?

Anyway, in an effort to keep this blog and my work separate, I won’t post it here. (We’ll see how long that lasts.) But suffice to say, I have lots of fun memories of the fair. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under job, writing

Leave a Reply

