“The Third Secret” by Steve Berry

The Third Secret: A Novel of Suspense The Third Secret: A Novel of Suspense by Steve Berry

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I do love a “Catholic conspiracy” novel. Steve Berry gets a lot of comparison to Dan Brown, and while I have to agree that Brown’s stories are more riveting, personally, I think Berry is the better writer.

I really enjoyed this book. “The Third Secret” is the first I’ve read from Berry, so I have high hopes for the next one I plan to read. The book was written before John Paul II passed away, but in the story, he had already passed, and a new pope, Clement XV, spends his nights in the Vatican vaults, obsessed over the third secret of Fatima. The third secret had been hidden away since 1917, and revealed to the world in 2000. But the revelation was so anticlimactic, many have wondered if the entire third secret was told.

Clement instructs his papal secretary, Colin Michener, to discover all he can about the third secret of Fatima, while ambitious men within the Vatican plot to gain power for themselves.

I could hardly put this book down. It made me late for work a couple of times! The ending disturbed me a little bit, but it was still, overall, a very good book. I hope the others he has written are just as riveting.

View all my reviews >>

Leave a comment

Filed under review

Leave a Reply

