The plague! The plague!

So much for trying to blog every day! Of course, nothing says “Let’s screw with your plans and knock you on your ass for a week” quite like the flu. Or whatever it was that I developed last Wednesday. I should have known something was up when I woke up that morning with a scratchy throat, but I just chalked it up to leaving the window open while I slept. Nope. Some insidious virus was launching an insurgence against my pathetic immune system. I made it about six hours at work, but finally had to wave the white flag of surrender when my head felt like it was about to do an impression of a watermelon at a Gallagher show.

Got home, crawled into bed and only emerged two days later on Friday in a desperate attempt to rally the troops at my asthma center because my lungs were about to become the next target. Fortunately, because of the Labor Day holiday on Monday, they were open on Friday for those of us unlucky enough to be sick over the holiday weekend. Got hooked up to a breathing machine, got some free steroids (I love my asthma center) and went home confident that I’d wiped out those viral bastards before any more damage could be done.

Unfortunately, I forgot that after the pain and stuffiness comes the nausea and heartburn. So my long weekend was shot to hell. I did manage to clean the chinchilla cage and clean up my bathroom for our visitors who are arriving in a couple of days. But not much else. My three-day weekend turned into a five-day bed rest. Joy.

I’m on the mend now. And fortunately, only two and a half more days of work until I’m on vacation! Woot!

Today is 09.09.09. It is also Good Neighbor Day. Be a good neighbor and give a compliment to a friend, coworker or family member!

Leave a comment

Filed under health

Leave a Reply

