Fun, family and food poisoning

Lord a-mercy!

It’s amazing how having visitors can disrupt your entire life. Not that I minded much. It’s great to see family that you would actually like to see more often.

I find it highly ironic that, growing up, and still today, I feel closer to my Australian relatives than the ones who live right here in my hometown. (I think it’s because my Aussie kin aren’t bat-shit insane like my dad’s family.)

Kelly is the oldest of my three Aussie cousins. Her boyfriend had to travel to North Carolina (of all places) for his work, so she tagged along to visit us for eight days. She and Andrew arrived late on a Thursday, and I had to work on Friday, so we didn’t get a chance to hang out until Saturday, when we all went down to Chattanooga so Kelly could meet my nephew and deliver some much belated birthday gifts.

Kelly and Ben have a "whale" of a good time.

Kelly and Ben have a "whale" of a good time.

'Sup, yo. Like my new threads?

'Sup, yo. Like my new threads?

I had the next week off work (YAY!) so on Monday, off we went to tour the Jack Daniel’s distillery in Lynchburg, TN. My uncle Pete, Kelly’s dad, is a big JD fan, so mom felt it her duty to take each of his girls to the distillery when they’ve visited. The distillery is an interesting place. Lynchburg is the only place in the world where Jack Daniel’s is made, but since it’s in a dry county, they’re not allowed to sell it there.

Whiskey, whiskey everywhere and not a drop to drink.

Whiskey, whiskey everywhere and not a drop to drink.

Jack actually wasn't a bad-lookin' fella.

Jack actually wasn't a bad-lookin' fella.

Tuesday, Andrew had to leave for North Carolina, so it was off to the airport to drop him off. Wednesday, Kelly, mom and I went back down to Chattanooga to hang with the bro and fam.

Thursday, we got up early to hit the Tennessee Aquarium. I hadn’t been in years, and they’d added an entire new building to the facility, including sharks, penguins and (my favorite) a butterfly garden.

Oh geez. Daddy's trying to be funny again.

Oh geez. Daddy's trying to be funny again.

Big fish, mommy! (Even though it's blurry, I really like this picture.)

Big fish, mommy! (Even though it's blurry, I really like this picture.)

Afterwards, we stopped at this little hole-in-the-wall burger place my brother likes to pick up lunch. Which promptly gave me food poisoning, so I spent the rest of Thursday and most of Friday sick. Always a good way to end a vacation.

Kelly left us on Saturday, and it was sad to see her go. But she made it home safe and sound Sunday.

It was a good week, if tiring. I told my coworkers when I came back that I needed a vacation from my vacation, but they wouldn’t hear of it.

So now I’m just trying to get caught up with everything and trying to get back into blogging. No Friday Five this week either because I haven’t been online much this week. Hopefully I can get back to it next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under family, vacation

Leave a Reply

