2010 Geeky New Year’s Resolutions

2010 is upon us and it’s time to make some New Year’s Resolutions. I know, it’s Jan. 6, but if you know me at all, I’m never on time for anything.

I generally make a resolution not to make resolutions, because I don’t keep them. I don’t even really try. But, this year, I decided to make some geeky resolutions, because I figured I’d be more likely to keep them, seeing as how they’d be fun (well, mostly) as opposed to being a chore. So without further ado, I present:

My 2010 Geeky New Year’s Resolutions

1. Watch at least one serial featuring every incarnation of the Doctor. I have become what you might describe as a rabid “Doctor Who” fan in the past year, and having just come off the airing on BBC America of “The End of Time,” featuring David Tennant in his last episodes of playing the Doctor, I thought it was time to broaden my “Doctor Who” horizons beyond Nine and Ten. I’m not going to go all crazy and try to watch every episode on DVD ever, but I do want to watch at least one storyline featuring Doctors One through Eight. And Eleven. Whom I am not going to like. (Of course, I said the same thing about Ten when Nine left.)

2. Give “Battlestar Galactica” a try. I have a confession. I’ve never seen one episode of BSG. Old or new. My geek friends can’t believe this. To be honest, as much as I love sci-fi TV, I don’t watch the Syfy channel much at all. In fact, the only show I watch on that channel is “Ghost Hunters.” So, I shall rent BSG and give it a shot. I make no promises that I’ll actually finish the show, however.

3. Buy and play a real game for my Wii. I own a Wii. I haven’t turned it on since last April when I had to unplug it during a lightning storm. The only “games” I own are Wii Sports and the Wii Fit (which belongs on a totally different resolution list). I vow to not only plug my Wii back up, but to also find a game to actually play on the thing. (Any recommendations?)

4. Update and use my iPod. I felt like I had finally joined the 21st century when I bought my iPod a couple of years ago. I thought finally, someplace I can keep all my music in one place at one time. I used it quite a bit when I first got it, to download and listen to Kevin Smith’s SModcasts while I walked. But then I got sick, and I stopped walking, and it’s mostly been gathering dust the last few months. I spent last weekend putting my CDs onto the computer, but I’ve got a long way to go. And hopefully it’ll motivate me to get walking again when the weather warms up (again, a different resolution list).

5. Read Eclipse and Breaking Dawn. Purely for mocking purposes. But I’m having a hard time getting motivated into finishing this tragedy of a “saga.”

6. Go see Iron Man 2 in the theater. I was never interested in Iron Man. Comic, cartoon or movie. I didn’t see the first one until almost a year after it was on DVD and only because my brother kept telling me how awesome it was. I didn’t believe him, but rented it anyway. And became a believer. And after seeing the trailer for the second one, I definitely want to see this one when it hits theaters.

7. Update Twitter and the blog more often. It’s January 6, so keeping this resolution isn’t looking too great. I get lazy. I admit it. And sometimes I just can’t think of anything to write about. And sometimes, I can’t even find time to write even if I wanted to (like this resolution list).

8. Catalogue my Barbie collection. I collect Barbie dolls. I consider this part of my geekiness. I have so many, scattered all around the house in doll cases, on shelves, in closets. If the house burned down, I would never be able to remember which ones I have and I have some rare ones. This year I will make a list, count them up and weep at how much I’ve spent on Barbie dolls over the years.

9. Teach my mother how to use email and Facebook. Considering that Mom doesn’t even know how to turn the computer on, this… may be difficult. But I shall endeavor to give it the ol’ college try. That is, if she can pull herself away from my nephew long enough to sit down and learn.

10. Try to work on my sci-fi story, “The Lonely Gods.” I had this amazing dream one night (thank you, Xanax) that when I woke up I really wanted to write it down and turn it into a story. My only problem is, of course, time, and the fact that I have this amazing idea, but no real plot. So this year, I’m going to roll the idea around in my head, try to find the “why this would happen” in the plot, and try to figure out how to write a sci-fi story when I don’t read any sci-fi novels (and I’m not much of a science geek). It may not ever come to anything, but I’m going to give it a shot.

These are my resolutions. Again, whether or not I’ll actually accomplish any of them is up in the air. It’ll be interesting to revisit this entry next year and see how many I managed or didn’t manage to fulfill.

1 Comment

Filed under resolutions

One response to “2010 Geeky New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Kat

    I would love to help you with #10! Huggs!

Leave a Reply

