Geeky, girly gab

There’s been several things happening this week that I didn’t really get a chance to elaborate on, or just couldn’t do so in 140 characters or less. This may become a regular thing… depending on whether or not I have stuff to say. Sometimes I’m boring that way. 😉

1. Fox readying U.S. version of  ‘Torchwood’

Captain Jack does not approve of these shinanigans.

I cannot even begin to express just how bad this idea is. First, if it doesn’t have Captain Jack Harkness, it’s not ‘Torchwood.’ Second, even if Fox does get John Barrowman on board… do you really think he’ll be allowed to hit on anything that breathes (and some things that don’t)? That’s what makes Captain Jack so great a character. He’s such a man!whore… and we like him that way.

I suppose they could go with the whole “Oh, look! We found Torchwood Four!” angle, but it still wouldn’t be ‘Torchwood.’ That’s not to say that I wouldn’t give the show a chance. I would. But it would lack the charm of the original if it weren’t set in Cardiff anymore. (Plus, with Fox’s track record for sci-fi shows, I doubt it would last long.)

But this is what really disturbs me:

Tranter might try to reboot “Doctor Who” for U.S. audiences while departing “Doctor Who” star David Tennant stars in NBC’s pilot “Rex Is Not Your Lawyer.”

WUT?

If it’s not British, it’s not ‘Doctor Who.’ But I really don’t see this happening.

2. ‘True Blood’ Shocker: An ‘Erotic Connection’ Will Transpire Between Sam and Bill

Two words: Hot. Damn.

I’ve been a fan of the Sookie Stackhouse books by Charlaine Harris for a long time, and even from the beginning, I’ve never really liked Bill. (And in the books, he’s a bit of an ass.) The HBO version is… a little better, if you can get past the accent. But I have been and will always be Team Eric.

According to Alan, the reasons for the newfound chemistry stem from Bill’s season two decision to heal Sam with a healthy dose of his own vampire blood. As a result, a connection between the two characters arises, one that is “not just any connection, but an erotic connection.”

Maybe it’s just me… but I can totally see this happening. We saw it happen with Sookie and Eric in season two. Even if it doesn’t go anywhere beyond this mystical connection, I will be a happy fangirl.

3. The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey is named a Printz Honor Book

I was privileged enough to get to read and review The Monstrumologist a couple of months before it was released. It was a wonderful, scary ride and I’m really happy that the book was named one of the 2010 Printz Honor Books for young adult literature. Rick is married to my cousin Sandy and I hear he’s hard at work on a sequel. I can’t wait to read it!

4. GeekBits: Regular guys talkin’ geeky stuff

I discovered by accident that my brother and three of his friends have started a weekly podcast talking about all things geek. (And the little bugger didn’t tell me about it!) They’re trying to get on a regular schedule with the podcasts, but I’ve spent the last two weeks listening to old episodes and laughing my butt off. Matt, Tim, Dan and Opey have a good time talking comics, movies, tech and TV. They also have a good time heckling each other in the process. If you like talkin’ geek, give them a listen.

5. Geeks With Heart: Haiti Response Fundraiser

With the help and encouragement of many geek tweeps, Geek Girls Network™ & Geeky Clean decided to use their online presence to assist in the Haiti Relief Efforts.

I follow @geekgirls on Twitter and have recently become a fan of the Geek Girls Network™ Web site. They’re raising money for Haiti through Mercy Corps and are hoping to raise $2,500 (or more) to help the people of Haiti. If you can spare even a little, please do!

Leave a comment

Filed under geeky girly gab, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

