5 really bad movies I really love

There are good movies and there are bad movies. My taste in movies pretty much follows the theme, “If the critics loved it, it’s boring. If the critics didn’t like it, it’ll probably be OK. If the critics totally trashed it, BEST MOVIE EVER!”

Well, maybe not best movie ever, but one I really, really enjoy. Some of my favorite movies are ones most people hate. They’re so bad, they’re good. And I’m not ashamed to admit my love for them.

The following are my top five really bad films that I freely admit to loving.

1. Joe’s Apartment

Beginning as a series of shorts aired as filler on MTV, someone, somewhere thought that a tale of talking, singing cockroaches would make for a good feature film. And you know what? It was. I’ll admit, I had a big crush on Jerry O’Connell back in the day (I blame “Sliders”), but it was the smart-mouthed, musically-inclined roaches that scurried their way into my heart. I mean, come on, “Funky Towel” is the perfect college dorm anthem. And among my circle of friends, an instant classic.

The towel has got the FUNK.

2. Bio-Dome

I have a confession to make. I like Pauly Shore movies. Well, most of them. I haven’t seen Bio-Dome in a while, but I do own it on VHS… somewhere. This movie was just… fun. And, OK, maybe the fact that this guy I had a teensy crush on in college said he’d see it with me when I said I was going alone may have colored my memory of how much fun I had seeing this film, but I really did enjoy it. It made me laugh. And it had a pretty good soundtrack, too. (Which I also own, on tape… somewhere.) There was an attempt to get a message across (pollution makes the Native Americans cry), but unlike some films (I’m looking at you, Avatar), it didn’t linger on it excessively and provided some chuckles along the way.

3. Snakes on a Plane

I was one of those who got suckered into the whole Snakes on a Plane phenomenon on the Internet before the film’s release. I visited Snakes on a Blog almost daily. I’m not a fan of horror movies, but I wanted to see this in the worst way. How could I not see a movie called Snakes on a Plane, especially when it starred Samuel L. Jackson? The plot is ludicrous. The acting is dubious. But I love the fact that it wasn’t trying to take itself seriously, and the studio actually listened to fan feedback to add to the production. Snakes on a Plane is a campy trip, and I can only hope for a sequel, More Motherfucking Snakes on More Motherfucking Planes.

4. The Core

I’m a big fan of disaster movies. The more implausible the disaster, the better. In The Core, the core of the earth stops spinning, wreaking havoc on the world above. So totally cheesy. The science is bunk. But it’s one of those movies I will stop and watch if I ever find it on the TV while channel surfing. I have no problem suspending my disbelief while Hilary Swank and Aaron Eckhart try to save the planet by using (what else) nuclear devices to jump start the earth’s core. I liked the special effects. I am riveted to the screen when they drill into a giant geode. Giant diamonds at the center of the earth? Hell yeah! Bring it on! The Core is a fun ride all the way down.

5. George of the Jungle

I never watched the cartoon when I was little. I didn’t care. There is just one reason I love this silly flick: Brendan Fraser in a loincloth. OK, the animals are cute, too. But the main appeal for me is that loincloth. … Excuse me, I think I need a cold shower.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a comment

Filed under movies

Leave a Reply

