Losing my ‘Battlestar’ virginity

Well, I did it. I admit, I was skittish at first. I wasn’t sure about the whole thing, and honestly didn’t know what I was doing, but I finally gave it up and lost my “Battlestar Galactica” virginity.

I’d heard lots of good things about it. Heard lots of bad things, too. But it was all hearsay, and I figured I ought to get to know it myself before jumping to any conclusions. I went in completely inexperienced. I was too young to know the elder BSG, and didn’t know anything about this “new and improved” version, other than there was a ship named Galactica and humans were fighting something called Cylons.

The whole reason for giving BSG a try? I was tired of not getting the jokes on "The Big Bang Theory."

Usually I like to get to know a series before jumping into a relationship. With “Doctor Who,” I read page upon page on Wikipedia, trying to get a feel for the show. Not so with BSG. We were strangers meeting for the first time on a cold Saturday night. Two glasses of Diet Mt. Dew later found me slipping the disc gently into the DVD player and hesitantly pushing “play.”

We got off to a bit of a rocky start. The DVD was unable to perform at first. But with a little coaxing and some Windex, we were off, exploring new places and learning things I’d never known before. Though it took a while to get to that point. I wasn’t impressed at first, but little by little, the characters drew me in, the story line piqued my interest and the special effects, while not quite mind-blowing, were pleasurable all the same.

It was a three-hour marathon session, and I came away happy, but not quite sated. I’m still a little unsure of the series as a whole, but I’m willing to give it another go when the second disc arrives in time for the weekend. It doesn’t take my breath away like “Doctor Who,” but I’m only just beginning to explore all that “Battlestar Galactica” has to offer.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Comments

Filed under television

3 responses to “Losing my ‘Battlestar’ virginity

  1. I’ve seen both BSG and Doctor Who. While there is sort of an apples and oranges thing going on when you try to compare them, I definitely have to come down on the side of Doctor Who. However, I do think there is merit in watching BSG and even though there’s a point I think it “jumped the shark,” I’m glad I watched it.

    I hope you enjoy it! The best (and sadly the worst) is yet to come.

    • Caroline

      That is what I’ve heard, that after a while, it goes downhill. Though I suppose that’s true of most shows. I’m only comparing the two because I approached both after friends’ recommendations. I am wary of new things. Though in the case of “Doctor Who,” I’m glad I took the chance. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Wil Wheaton Strikes Back « Small Town Girl

Leave a Reply

