Review: ‘Kick-Ass’

(WARNING: This post contains spoilers for the movie Kick-Ass. If you don’t want to be spoiled, please skip this post.)

I don’t go to the movies very often. I love movies, but most of the time, I’m content to wait until a movie I’m interested in hits DVD. But there are some movies I make exceptions for.

Kick-Ass is the first movie I’ve seen in 2010. Actually, it’s the first movie I’ve been to in almost a year. For those who may not know much about the story, Kick-Ass is the story of Dave Lizewski, an ordinary high school kid who dreams of making a difference and fighting injustice in the world. So he dons a wet suit and becomes Kick-Ass, which in turn spawns a wave of other masked vigilantes and angering a local drug boss.

Nobody messes with Big Daddy's little Hit Girl.

I had never heard of Kick-Ass until I listened to the Geek Bits podcast where the guy seemed absolutely ga-ga over it. A link in their show notes to one of the trailers piqued my interest. And when the red-band trailer hit the Internet, I figured it might be a movie I would pay to see. It looked pretty awesome, and I was very intrigued by the Hit Girl character. Also, the trailer was pretty funny.

Unfortunately, this was one of those movies where most of the funny bits are in the trailer. That’s not to say I didn’t like the movie, but it wasn’t quite what I thought it was going to be, at least in the way of humor.

I expected the violence and the gore. I’m not usually squeamish about movie violence, but there was one scene where I had to look away (the scene where the bad guys stick the other bad guy in the giant microwave… I knew what was coming and just couldn’t watch). I’ve heard a bunch of criticism over the violence committed by the potty-mouthed, preteen Hit Girl, but none of that bothered me. Hell, it made me feel a bit empowered, even though I am separated from 12 a couple of decades.

Even though the movie wasn’t as funny as I thought it would be, watching Chloe Moretz’s portrayal of Hit Girl was definitely worth the price of admission. I’m not a big Nic Cage fan, but he also rocked the part of Hit Girl’s father, Big Daddy. Aaron Johnson, an actor I’m not at all familiar with, also did a really good job at playing the nerdy, but lovable Kick-Ass.

I have not read the comic that this movie was based on, so I can’t comment as to whether or not I liked or disliked the deviations from the source material, but overall I did enjoy the movie. I think, perhaps, the humor of the movie might have come through more if there had been more than six people in the theater when I saw it. I tend to feed on the energy of the audience. It’s hard to really laugh out loud when the theater is totally silent.

The action was crazy and Chloe Moretz shines in her role. Enough to where I’m actually hoping for a sequel, just so I can see more of her foul-mouthed, ass-kicking character.

All in all, a good movie, just not exactly what I was expecting.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a comment

Filed under movies, review

Leave a Reply

