Boobquake 2010: Will the earth tremble?

I can’t remember where I first heard about Boobquake. Probably Twitter because that’s where I find the bestest stuff. But I remember thinking that, even though I don’t own much in the way of low-cut, “immodest” clothing, I’d participate. You know, all in the name of science.

Blogger Jen McCreight came up with the idea for Boobquake after reading a news article about an Iranian cleric who blamed the recent earthquakes on immodest dress and promiscuity.

“Many women who do not dress modestly … lead young men astray, corrupt their chastity and spread adultery in society, which (consequently) increases earthquakes,” Hojatoleslam Kazem Sedighi was quoted as saying by Iranian media. Sedighi is Tehran’s acting Friday prayer leader.

I agree with McCreight that this kind of thinking is utter poppycock. McCreight decided to test this theory by urging those women who would like to participate to wear the most immodest, cleavage revealing piece of clothing they own on Monday, April 26. The idea was to see if the earth would move under the weight of so many exposed boobs.

My virtual participation in Boobquake. Let's face it, these are nicer to look at than my own anyway.

McCreight offered her idea as mostly a joke, but it took off, exploding on Facebook, Twitter, then TV. The Facebook page has dozens of photos of women daring the earth to quake today. So far, I haven’t felt a thing.

I wanted to participate. I even remembered this morning that today was Boobquake day. Unfortunately, I really don’t own anything that low-cut. The couple of shirts I do have that might have worked are in the laundry. So from what clean clothes I had left in the closet, I picked the lowest-cut top I could. Which isn’t very low at all. And then I had to add a sweater on top of it, because it’s been bloody cold this morning. So I may not be participating as much as I could, but I’m participating in spirit.

I’m not going to get into the controversy of this movement. I don’t care whether feminists feel empowered or pissed off. It’s the Iranian cleric and those who likewise believe that “immoral” behavior — by anyone — leads to natural disasters who need to be shown that their so-called theories are hogwash.

So ladies, today, if you’ve got ’em, flaunt ’em. And if you don’t got ’em… flaunt ’em anyway.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Comments

Filed under internet buzz

2 responses to “Boobquake 2010: Will the earth tremble?

  1. Pingback: Friday Five: Welcome to the Shire. « Small Town Girl

  2. Pingback: A life of its own | Small Town Girl

Leave a Reply

