Friday Five: Welcome to the Shire.

What a week! We started off on Monday with Boobquake and ended it with a million people on Facebook who want our president to die. Guess which one I enjoyed more. (Hint: As a non-lesbian, I am not ashamed to say I like boobs.)

Lots of fun stuff this week! Here’s just a sampling of the nifty things found by my Twitter and Facebook friends!

1. Winscape

Mary Ann, a friend on Facebook, linked me up with this amazing site. Ever wanted to wake up overlooking the ocean, the Golden Gate Bridge or other world landmarks, or even outer space? Now you can! And the beauty of it is, this technology is available right now. Well, that is, if you have the cash to buy two flat screen HDTVs. Which I don’t. But it’s still a freakin’ cool idea!

Source: RationalCraft.com

Photo by Maddie Chambers

The outside of Maddie Chambers' Hobbit Hole. You should see the inside! Such amazing detail!

2. Hand-made Hobbit Hole

Maddie Chambers has some serious skills. She’s created an amazing model of Bag End. Actually, I’m not even sure “amazing” is sufficient enough to describe it. It is a beautiful piece of work, and as a bonus, she even shows you how she made the model on her blog. Be sure to check it out, because I’m insanely jealous and wish I had an ounce of her talent. I’ve borrowed one of her photos to whet your appetite. Now go check out the rest!

Source: Maddie Chambers at Madshobbithole.

3. Gaga a capella

I’ll admit, I like some of Lady Gaga’s music. Not so sure I like Lady Gaga herself or her wacky lifestyle, but some of her music is not bad. Actually, it’s really quite good when performed by an all male a capella group from the University of Oregon. They’ve got the moves to match, too. Bonus!

Source: Huffington Post

4. Star Trek meets Monty Python

Last week, I made a post with a list of TV shows I’d love to see crossover. Seeing as how all the shows I listed were on different networks, really the only way I’d ever see any of these crossovers is in fanfiction. Or, apparently, on YouTube. Take a look at what happens when two iconic franchises meet. The result is hilarious.

Source: StarshipConductor on YouTube

5. 8-bit Dr. Horrible

I could not let the conclusion of the amazing 8-bit Dr. Horrible game go unlinked. DoctorOctoroc has done an amazing job re-visioning Joss Whedon’s “Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog” as an 8-bit video game, complete with ’80s video game music. If you haven’t seen the end yet, here’s Act 3, Part 1 and Act 3, Part 2.

Source: DoctorOctoroc

Forgive me for ending with a bit of self-promotion, but I made my podcast (sort of) debut this week over on Geek Bits. I recorded a Geek Byte with Dan, Matt and Opey about our reactions to the movie Kick-Ass. I sound like an utter dork, but give it a listen if you’ve got time. 🙂

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

1 Comment

Filed under friday five

One response to “Friday Five: Welcome to the Shire.

  1. Pingback: Friday Five: Get ‘Lost’ « Small Town Girl

Leave a Reply

