What’s with all the Megan Fox hate?

America's philosophy: hot girls should be seen and not heard.

I was disappointed to hear last month that Megan Fox would not be in the third Transformers movie. From reading Teh Interwebs, I think I’m the only one who was. I like Megan Fox. Yes, I have boobs, am not a lesbian, and I like Megan Fox. Flies in the face of everything you read online, doesn’t it?

I don’t understand all the Megan Fox hate, or the rejoicing that she would not be in the third installment in the Transformers franchise. Most of the vitriol seems to spring from comments she made in an interview regarding Transformers director Michael Bay.

“I mean, I can’t s**t on this movie because it did give me a career and open all these doors for me. But I don’t want to blow smoke up people’s a***s. People are well aware that this is not a movie about acting.”

This statement is so, so true. Transformers is not about the acting. It’s about giant effin’ robots blowing shit up while the audience gets to relive parts of their childhood. It’s why I love both movies so much, despite the actual plot that sometimes gets in the way. I don’t go to see movies like Transformers for the acting. I go to see the special effects and experience some nostalgia.

After her comments, Fox took some vicious verbal heat for daring to criticize the director and franchise that made her a star. As HollywoodScoop put it, “Megan’s head has gotten so big, she’s already forgotten the people responsible for her success. Let’s face it, she’s not exactly an Oscar worthy actress, she’s just great to look at. So maybe she shouldn’t bite the hand that feeds her.”

And here’s where the Hollywood double standard comes in. Recently, Shia LaBeouf has also made some critical remarks not only about Transformers, but Indiana Jones 4. Regarding Transformers 2, LaBeouf pretty much agreed with Fox.

“When I saw the second movie, I wasn’t impressed with what we did…There were some really wild stunts in it, but the heart was gone…we got lost. We tried to get bigger…Mike went so big that it became too big, and I think you lost the anchor of the movie…You lost a bit of the relationships. Unless you have those relationships, then the movie doesn’t matter. Then it’s just a bunch of robots fighting each other.”

(Poor Shia. I know you want to be considered a serious actor, but honestly, the movies really are just a bunch of robots fighting each other.)

Instead of the same condemnation Fox received, LaBeouf was lauded as being gutsy and honest. From ScreenCrave.com, “We give Labeouf props for recognizing where he went wrong…”

Oh, Hollywood.

We claim to be proponents of free thought, but when an actress is allegedly fired speaking her mind, what are we really saying? Why does Shia LaBeouf get a pass when Megan Fox is, from reading some reader comments, a “slut who got what’s coming to her”?

I’ve never heard of any major sex scandal surrounding her. Those are a dime a dozen in Hollywood anyway. Is Megan Fox a slut because she’s aware of her sexuality and uses it in her career? I don’t think so.

Fox has yet to prove herself as an actress. I don’t think she’s been given the opportunity to do so yet. I think it will come in time. It’s not her fault Transformers made her a superstar before she had a chance to prove herself. Right now she’s using her biggest asset — her looks — to land parts. And I don’t think that’s so wrong.

I will go see Transformers 3. I go to see the robots, not the acting. Who knows? The new girl might be a better match for the franchise, but I will miss Megan’s character. And I’m not ashamed to admit it.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a comment

Filed under internet buzz, movies, Ranty McRantypants

Leave a Reply

