Review: “Changing the World” by Mercedes Lackey

Changing the World and Other Tales of ValdemarChanging the World and Other Tales of Valdemar by Mercedes Lackey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve been starved for new Valdemar tales as of late. Mercedes Lackey dominated by bookshelves in the ’90s, and while I do like some of her new works, the world of Valdemar will always be my first love.

I think this was the best collection of short stories that’s been put out so far. Admittedly, a couple of them were a bit dull to the point where I skimmed through them, but what really set this book apart, for me, was the last story, “Interview with a Companion” by Ben Ohlander. It was reminiscent of “Interview with the Vampire” by Anne Rice, where the author meets a real Companion, in Kentucky of all places, and learns the world in the books may not just be the product of a woman’s imagination. What a neat concept!

A new Valdemar book will be published in October of this year, so this book of short stories really helped stave off my craving of wanting a new tale.

View all my reviews >>

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a comment

Filed under books, review

Leave a Reply

