Goals, not resolutions

Every year I resolve not to make any resolutions. Last year I made ten. I think I kept about four of them. But looking back at them, I realize they weren’t so much resolutions as they were goals. And I only managed a handful. Still, that’s better than none.

This year, I’ve made two lists. The first is a list of goals I’d like to accomplish in 2011. The second is a more practical list of what I think I’ll actually accomplish before 2012.

MMXI is already ticking away...

Goals for 2011

1. See more movies.

In 2010, I saw exactly four movies in theaters: Kick-Ass, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, Red and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1. Going through the upcoming releases section on IMDB, I’ve already got a list of 13 movies I want to see. 2011 is going to be a good year for movies.

2. Blog more.

This is the first blog post I’ve made in about four months. I really slacked off. In my defense, I spent most of September sick and/or getting ready for my trip to Australia which lasted for five weeks in October-November. Still, I should have made more of an effort.

3. Finish my unfinished fanfic.

I started writing Gundam Wing fanfic over a decade ago. I stopped about three years ago when I first got sick. I have nine chapters done of the last one I was working on. I want to finish it. No, I WILL finish it. *game face*

4. Write a non-fic short story.

I have a notebook full of ideas and outlines and characters. It’s time to put up or shut up and finally write one of them.

5. Cull DVD, book, manga collections.

Seriously. I have no more room. Books aren’t so bad now I have a Kindle, but my DVDs are out of control and my manga hasn’t fit on my bookshelves in years. Time to get rid of some I won’t read/watch anymore. And perhaps make some money in the process.

6. Scrapbook trips.

After our last trip to Australia, I started to scrapbook the highlights. I never finished. Now I’ve been again, and have tons of new memories to scrapbook. It’s time to dig out all my equipment and finish some albums!

7. Watch old TV shows everyone has seen but me.

These include, but are not limited to, Fringe, the various incarnations of “Stargate,” “Warehouse 13,” “Sanctuary,” Classic “Who”…

8. Reach 200 followers on Twitter.

As of this writing I’m at 188. Twelve more (that aren’t bots) shouldn’t be too hard to manage in a year, should it?

9. Read more books, including at least two non-fiction.

In 2009, while still recovering from my illness, I only read 42 books. This year, I read 59 books. I’m hoping that not having to worry about finding space for new books will help me read even more this year.

10. Start a podcast.

Ideally, with my brother, since he has experience. But he’s already got one going, so I may have to look elsewhere for a co-host. Still, sounds like fun.

 

Realistic goals for 2011

1. See more movies.

Since I only saw four this year, I think I can make this goal. In my list of Movies I’d Like to See, the ones I think I will probably make it to include Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2, Pirates of the Caribbean 4, Transformers 3, Cowboys and Aliens and either Thor or the Green Lantern. The rest I’ll probably just wait until they come out on DVD.

2. Blog more.

Oh let’s face it. If I can manage one a week, I’ll be doing good. I managed to keep a written journal for all of 2010, but honestly, you all don’t want to read the mundane details of my life.

3. Finish my unfinished fanfic.

I tried to finish it last year. I got exactly a chapter and a half done. I will consider two more chapters done by January 2012 as an accomplishment.

4. Write a non-fic short story.

Um… I foresee more outlines and ideas being written down. Actually finishing one? Pfft.

5. Cull DVD, book, managa collections.

The motivating factor here will be money. If I can make a little money by getting rid of some of these, then I think this will be a goal I will accomplish.

6. Scrapbook trips.

My problem with scrap booking right now is a lack of work space. If I can buy a simple, fold-out table for the upstairs spare room, I will be able to spread my materials out and get some pages done! So real goal: Find a suitable work table.

7. Watch old TV shows everyone has seen but me.

I might be able to catch up with “Fringe” and “Warehouse 13.” But there are I don’t even know how many seasons of “Stargate” and its various incarnations. Some research will be involved if I am to attempt this.

8. Reach 200 followers on Twitter.

Honestly, I’ll take the bots.

9. Read more books, including at least two non-fiction.

My Kindle makes this goal achievable. I already have one non-fiction book I’ve not read yet. Any suggestions for a second?

10. Start a podcast.

Eh. I’ll settle for doing a guest spot on Geek Bits every once in a while.

Have a safe and happy, geeky New Year!

1 Comment

Filed under resolutions

One response to “Goals, not resolutions

  1. Dave Barnhart

    Now this has me curious — a Podcast? What would it be about? Living in a small town? Doctor Who and related Nerdity?

Leave a Reply

