Four more

Last night I asked my parents if we could avoid the election coverage. In 2008, I was so nervous about the election results, the pain in my stomach was almost unbearable. (I would later find out the pain was mostly my gallbladder rebelling against my body.) But still. The thought of a Republican in the White House scared me so much.

To be honest, I wasn’t nearly as nervous this time around, but that may have been a mixture of voter apathy and happy fun-time anti-anxiety meds. But I still didn’t want to watch the possibility that Romney could be elected president. I’m sorry. I just don’t like the guy. By the end of the night, it was inevitable I would turn over, and to my relief, it wasn’t long until the race was called for Obama.

So congratulations, Mr. President.

However, I am greatly worried that we are in for four more years of the same stagnation. Not because of Obama, but because Republicans maintained control of the House of Representatives. I want to believe, if everyone means what they say about getting this country going again, Republicans will finally work together with Democrats, instead of just automatically saying, “No,” to everything that comes their way. It’s time to work together. Each party will have to give a little to get a little. The election is over. Can we please, please come together to work for the greater good instead of being roadblocks? I’d like to think it would happen, but history has ways of repeating itself.

I’m not blaming Republicans for all our nation’s woes, but for the past two years, it seems as if their sole purpose was to make Obama a one-term president instead of caring for our country.

But I do hope that since this two-year run for president is now finally, officially over, our elected officials can buckle down and get to work. Is that too much to ask?

Leave a comment

Filed under politics

Leave a Reply

