What’s in a name?

ImageA few weeks ago, the new lady at work called me “Beth.” This is not the first time I’ve been called “Beth.” The mother of a friend of mine from high school always insisted on calling me “Beth” and not once in 3 years did she ever learn that my name was Caroline.

I don’t know what it is about me that screams “Beth.” I don’t think I look like a Beth. Beth isn’t even close to Caroline. Usually, people will mispronounce my name as Carolyn. My boss has my name spelled Carolyn on her email list (and I’ve worked here for 10 years, mind.) Sometimes I’ll get Catherine. I remember back in middle school, when giving our names for class pictures, the guy wrote down “Catherine Shelby,” neither of which is correct.

Once I got a Mary. I think it was a bad phone connection that time. Still, Mary from Caroline? Well, it’s closer than Beth.

4 Comments

Filed under this is my life

4 responses to “What’s in a name?

  1. I get “Shirley” a lot–I think it’s people either mishearing “Charlie,” or hearing it just fine and refusing to believe it’s actually my name. I had a boss who called me “Deb” every now and again, and I get that one occasionally from other people, no clue why.

  2. HIGH FIVE TO A FELLOW BETH!!! I do tech support at Comcast, and I get called ‘Bethany’ at least ten times per day. I can *almost* understand, since ‘Stephanie’ and ‘Bethany’ can seem a bit similar over a bad phone connection, but they do it even when I emphasize the S. Some days I get it in my head that I won’t be called Bethany all day, and end up sounding like Kaa from the Jungle Book on every call. They still call me Bethany. I don’t even bother correcting them anymore.

    • LET’S HEAR IT FOR THE BETHS! I don’t bother correcting anyone either, at least if it’s on a phone call. Coworkers, I’ll tell. But I still can’t convince my boss my name isn’t Carolyn.

Leave a Reply

